Posted by Piercy Stakelum on 10/25/2019

What should you do if you are involved in a vehicle collision in Florida?

What should you do if you are involved in a vehicle collision in Florida?

Before anything else, evaluate the physical health condition of yourself and any occupants and provide any type of help you are competently in a position to handle. Do the very same for the passengers of the other vehicles. As soon as possible call 911 to report the accident and supply whatever facts they need. After that find a secure location for yourself and occupants and wait at the crash site with your motor vehicle till the authorities get there. You should not discuss the details of exactly how the accident developed with any other motorists or passengers at the accident site, as any statements you make in that matter can be put to use against you in a future lawsuit. You are required to cooperate with the investigating law enforcement department , and statements included in the police report can not be used against you in a later civil proceeding except for if you are disputing auto accident. If you are physically able to do so, photograph the damage to your automobile and any other vehicles involved in the collision, and take photos of any visible personal injuries on your person. In addition, call your insurance policy company and report the crash immediately right after these initial activities.

If you are experiencing pain or discomfort to any degree, you should advise the responding law enforcement officer so they can dispatch medical professionals to evaluate the situation. When speaking with emergency crews either on the crash scene or at the hospital, it is vital to state all of your complaints. Even if there is one significant issue and other minor problems, there is no way to establish if any one of these problems will become more significant, so you must log all of your problems. If you choose not to seek medical help at the accident scene and instead decide to pursue medical attention by yourself, you must do so as soon as possible following the collision. This is both for your personal health and well-being along with to make certain you meet specific statutory requirements regarding automobile insurance coverage. Most car drivers and occupants suffering personal injuries are entitled to personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage benefits of up to $10,000 toward payment of medical expenses related to the accident. That being said, pursuant to Florida Statutes, unless you get medical treatment and the medical provider reports you have suffered an "emergency medical condition" or EMC, your insurance benefits will be seriously reduced. Once you seek medical care and the medical provider points out in your record that you suffered an EMC, you are entitled to seek the entire $10,000 benefit under either your PIP insurance or a family member's PIP insurance. Be sure to document each one of your activities as you move forward. It is also vital to log any out of pocket charges related to the crash. This includes lost time from work if you are not immediately able to return to work, as you can recover from the liable driver not only medical bills and expenses, but also time you miss from your job if your injuries restrain you from doing your work duties.

Once you have taken care of these initial tasks, you should look for representation from a personal injury attorney in Florida immediately. Time is essential, as there are insurance matters that must be promptly resolved, there is evidence that must be preserved just like photographing the involved car or trucks, capturing on film the crash scene, tracking down and questioning witnesses, and examining and taking notes of the accident scene. As time passes, these forms of evidence become more tough or even hardly possible to attain. Witnesses relocate and over time lose memory of certain facts and physical evidence which include skid marks, fragments from the vehicles and damage to any portion of the street or structures edging the street also begin to vanish, and once they are gone, there is no chance to recoup the same data.  A lawyer will also identify all insurance plans carriers that have any link to the motor vehicles or people associated with the accident, and they will negotiate directly with the insurance adjusters so you do not have to. Your attorney should also send claims for initial and ongoing lost incomes, property damages to your auto, and all other incident damages you sustain in the early days and weeks following the car accident and moving forward from that issue until your case is resolved. In choosing  a lawyer, look into the lawyer and law office's number of years in practice, and be certain the attorney is a trial lawyer or attorney. Florida attorneys manage personal injury legal matters on a contingency basis, so there is no worry about paying out the lawyer until and unless the attorney recovers money for your accident injuries. The attorneys' fees for Fla lawyers handling injury lawsuits are controlled by the Florida Bar and consistent with all lawyers throughout the state. Once again, get initial medical attention first-- that is crucial-- but from there on the sooner you consult with an attorney, the sooner the attorney can begin putting the pieces into place to obtain fair and full settlement for your injuries and damages.

In the few days or weeks following the accident, the insurance provider for the at-fault driver may contact you. If you have retained an attorney, just simply advise them of the name and contact information of the lawyer, and do not give them any further information. If you have not retained a lawyer, you should speak with an attorney prior to giving any information and facts or statements to the insurance provider. Insurance companies are well-known for making an effort to quickly settle claims for less than amount, thus making the most of their experience and understanding by talking an accident victim into settling for a significantly smaller amount of money than the victim would in most cases be entitled. This is typical with the insurance business sector, and once they convince the victim to accept money, the victim generally is legally prohibited from seeking his or her insurance claim. The absolute best way to stay away from letting the insurance carrier to deprive you of fair compensation is to retain an experienced attorney who has been down that road many times previously.

Contact This Member

Join our Mailing List to Receive Marketing Tips