Posted by Apricot Law on 11/27/2019

How to Recover Compensation in a Colorado Rideshare Collision

How to Recover Compensation in a Colorado Rideshare Collision

Rideshare services like Uber, Lyft, and others are great alternatives to driving when you want to avoid paying for parking or want to enjoy a night out with friends without the hassle of selecting a designated driver. What many rideshare passengers don’t consider, however, is that their Uber and Lyft drivers can get into accidents just like any other driver on the road.

When you get into an accident while riding in an Uber or Lyft, you have the right to obtain a settlement for any losses you suffer. Thankfully, both Uber and Lyft have extensive insurance policies, so you can reach out to them for a settlement in some cases; however, in other cases, hiring a Denver car accident lawyer will be necessary to prove negligence and recover the compensation you deserve. 

Uber and Lyft Insurance Policy

When you suffer from injuries or other losses as a passenger in an Uber or Lyft, you should first seek a settlement from Uber’s or Lyft’s insurance policies. Both rideshare companies have extensive coverage to protect both drivers and passengers.

Uber and Lyft drivers must have their own car insurance coverage when not using the rideshare service; however, when the driver has the app turned on or has accepted a ride, both services provide $50,000 bodily injury liability per person per accident, $100,000 injury liability total per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.

When an Uber or Lyft driver has a passenger in the vehicle, both rideshare companies extend their coverage to at least $1 million in total liability. Uber’s insurance policy applies when the rideshare driver is at fault for causing the wreck, but Lyft’s insurance policy doesn’t make it clear if you can recover a settlement if another driver is a fault.

If you have trouble recovering a settlement from Uber or Lyft, you may need to file a lawsuit. 

Determine Who’s At Fault

Uber or Lyft may not pay for your losses if your driver didn’t cause the wreck. If this is the case, you may need a lawyer to help you determine who’s at fault and sue the liable party. The driver who hit your rideshare vehicle may be at fault, in which case you can prove negligence using evidence, such as witness testimonies, photographs, and video footage. 

Recoverable Losses as a Colorado Rideshare Passenger

After determining who’s at fault for your collision and proving negligence against them in court, you can maximize your claim by accounting for all your losses, both financial and nonfinancial.

Your financial losses may comprise medical expenses, property damage, lost wages from missing work while healing, and other losses. Your nonfinancial losses may comprise pain and suffering, emotional distress, loss of enjoyment of life, loss of consortium, scarring and disfigurement, and more.

Fight for What You Deserve

As a passenger, you most likely contributed no fault to your rideshare accident, so it’s essential that you fight for the compensation you deserve. Whether you receive a settlement from Uber or Lyft or you hire an experienced attorney to maximize your claim in court, you shouldn’t back down without seeking justice.


Contact This Member

Join our Mailing List to Receive Marketing Tips